Sharing a Netflix Password? READ THIS!!


If you share a Netflix account with others, you may be getting locked out soon.

Netflix wants to make sure the actual owners of accounts are the ones using them.

Some viewers have started seeing the message below when they start the app.

NOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!

If you get that message, that means Netflix thinks you might be piggybacking on someone else's account.

If you are the account owner, they'll shoot you an email asking you to verify.

If they aren't able to verify the account, you'll be prompted to create your own with a 30-day free trial.

Right now, this account test is only showing up on connected TV devices, so if you're watching on your laptop or phone, you won't be seeing the message just yet.

A look at the terms and conditions for Netflix says your account "may not be shared with individuals beyond your household."

"This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so," a Netflix spokesperson said. Netflix did not clarify how they determine who is in the same household, or if a shared IP address counts as being in the same household.